10 days ago – on a whim – I decided to embark on a new journey.

Yoga. Every single day. For 20 days.

Brandywine Yoga is a studio that is located between West Chester and Longwood Gardens, that offers 20 consecutive days of yoga for $20. My immediate ‘extreme couponer’ instinct kicked in and I said to myself, “Woah, if I went everyday that would be $1 a class!”

So I signed up.

But really, how realistic is going to a 1.5 hour yoga class everyday? Things always get in the way – work, friends, weather, illness. And then I thought, “Well, why not actually try it?” Making this decision meant a few greivances:

  1. 6am class Tuesdays and Thursdays. I HATE MORNINGS.
  2. Saying no to staying out late or going out after work with colleagues and friends. I LOVE SAYING YES.
  3. I couldn’t have a lazy day and not feel like going one day. I LOVE BEING LAZY.

Well, I decided 20 days truly isn’t that long to give up those 3 things, so I committed. Now I’m halfway through my 20 day challenge and it feels amazing. Every day, whether its to start my day with a 6am sunrise class or finish my day with a 9pm flow, I find peace within myself.

I find beauty.
I find strength.
I find poetry.

228793_1789970757214_1976400_n

I find a stillness of the mind that I can’t even find when I’m alone or going to sleep.

In a world of constant chatter from every direction at once, it’s making my realize that yoga really is not just a one time thing. Once a week is not enough to keep your sanity and hold a daily sense of stillness in your heart.

My motivation to complete the yoga challenge grows stronger by the day. So much so that I wouldn’t be surprised if, by the end, I decided to tackle 40 days. Giving up something for Lent is overrated. Maybe we should all take a “DO SOMETHING DAILY” challenge. That’s even harder than giving something up.

Every day I’ve been writing down one word on an index card for each day completed. These words represent the one thing that reverberated the most in my soul during and after class. On the back of each card I wrote a description but for now I’ll let you interpret them as you wish…

Day 1:   Nostalgic

Day 2:   Infinite, Silence

Day 3:   Intention

Day 4:   Stress-Relief

Day 5:   Flow

Day 6:   Restoration

Day 7:   Power

Day 8:   Sunrise

Day 9:   Strong

Day 10: Flexible

Here’s to the next 10 days…!

