Mom always told us not to eat the cookie dough because we could get food poisoning. But who listens to that advice?? I’ve probably eaten more cookie dough in my lifetime that I actually have cookies.

Sometimes you just have to go with the path of least resistance. Who ever said will power was a thing?

Moral of the story. EGGS.

Eggs can give you food poisoning from salmonella for 2 reasons:

1…..Uh, well they could be dirty?

2…………..

Who am I kidding? Our parents never really explained WHY we would get food poisoning. Or maybe they did and I just refused to believe that was actually a true statement because cookie dough was way too delicious to make you sick.

Anyway, so moral of the story.

A few days after I moved into my flat, I started researching grocery stores. I found one that had some really cool reviews. A small local, organic supermarket that could easily compare to a neighborhood version of WholeFoods (http://www.greensmithsfood.co.uk).

1228094894_62.49.27.213

I could have SWORN that I read reviews on TripAdvisor before going that said the guys that work the meat counter were “HOTTIES”—yes in all caps. But I can’t seem to find them anymore. Maybe I made that up. It definitely wasn’t one of the reasons I went there though (shh).

It was a really quaint, surprising store. Fresh local fruits, veggies, meats, wines, and baked goods. Right up my alley! I was definitely coming back. But on the way home, I wanted to pick up some less expensive items like salt, pepper, chicken, and some other essentials.

Walking in was like walking into a pre-packaged prison cafeteria.

newPic_5161_jpg_2069349a

The place was dirty. I couldn’t believe how cheap the food was, to the point where I feel like there was something wrong with it. I wasn’t even sure I understood the concept behind a package of chicken that was only 1 GBP. What in the world did they do to it to make it that cheap??

Anyway, as I walked through the isles I noticed the eggs were in a middle of baking supplies and canned goods. My first thought, “EW, this place doesn’t even refrigerate their eggs?! I’m out.”

IMG_7038-2

So I left.

A week later, I was walking through another grocery store (Sainsbury’s). And once again noticed the eggs were not refrigerated! Strange. Must be a thing over here. It just so happens, I was trolling Business Insider yesterday and this headline popped up:

“Why Europeans Don’t Refrigerate Their Eggs, But Americans Do”
http://uk.businessinsider.com/why-europeans-dont-refrigerate-eggs-2014-12

How did Business Insider know my internal, mind-wracking dilemma?! ESP. Well I’m glad I stumbled upon this article, because I can now tell you 2 reasons why eggs can have salmonella AND the differences in egg production between the United States and Europe.

So why did I find warm eggs in the grocery stores over here??

  1. The U.S. focuses on large-scale laying houses, which means more chickens in a confined space, equalling more risk for initial contamination. Because of this, the U.S. food industry significantly cleans and washes the eggs with a specific chemical that they say keeps better at cooler temperatures. And once an egg is at a certain temperature it must remain at that temperature to stay fresh.
  2. U.K. and European countries focus on smaller, free range production to generate clean eggs right off the bat, rather than cleaning them afterwards (which encourages better farming practices and scientists say is actually better for the shell). The outer shell does not contain the chemical that needs refrigeration in the U.S.

Makes me think America should adopt European farming practices. But we know that’s never going to happen because that’s America…

More, more, more. Faster, faster, faster.

I’m just glad to know there’s some science and animal rights behind the unrefrigerated eggs and it wasn’t just bad practices of a creepy grocery store with the 1 GBP chicken.

But more importantly…

I will still keep eating the cookie dough.

